Skeletons of Privilege

An average human skeleton weighs about 10 kilograms, but the skeletons hanging on our backs vary from person to person. Some are lighter, and their hosts are free to move. Some are heavier, limiting their opportunities. I have seen them firsthand.

When I was in high school, I first saw my classmates’ skeletons. Just sitting on their backs. The high achievers had smaller skeletons, where they were free to move. They had the means to buy books, the time to study, and a space to relax. Others were not as fortunate. With bigger, heavier skeletons latching onto their backs, it made moving harder. We couldn’t afford the textbooks and had to fight over who could check out the few available books in the library. Some did not have a happy home to relax in and had to breathe while walking on eggshells. Others, like me, had to work while studying. Along with the social struggles, having to work while studying, fighting over books; the skeleton on my back grows bigger and bigger. There are days where I would just sleep in because of how heavy it became, instead of studying or being productive. I know others with skeletons like mine who said they did the same. I was lucky I even graduated.

I once worked in human resources, and one of my tasks was employee discipline and sanctions. I noticed those who have trouble at work have larger skeletons than the top achievers. There are outliers, of course, but a good chunk of those with heavier skeletons often don’t have the opportunity, or even the energy to excel.

During the height of the transportation strike, I noticed many of those with heavier skeletons were late for work. Those with lighter skeletons, however, were happy that there was hardly any traffic. It was easier to drive to work. Of course, the upper management complained about the recurring tardiness; so I had to speak with the employees.

Most of them had the same reason: There weren’t enough jeeps. There were even a few of them who left their homes at 4am but still arrived at work 5 minutes late. I tried to lobby for some consideration from upper management, taking into account the current situation; but to no avail. I had to give them a written warning. I had to follow the damned code of conduct!

I resigned a few weeks after that incident. I want to serve the masses, not a corporate giant… but I came to realize that in the industry I am in, there’s only so much we can do. I’ve seen firsthand how those with heavy skeletons have to work twice as hard to get half the privilege others are given. But, when we talk about privilege, people often think of it as getting handed opportunities without having to work hard. Everybody has to work hard to get what they achieve; however, when we talk about privilege, it isn’t merely having opportunities handed to them, but rather the hurdles they don’t have to jump over to get those said opportunities.

Everyone has skeletons sitting on their backs. Just hanging steadily, with their weight enough to crush when given the chance. Be kind.

~ KMC

One thought on “Skeletons of Privilege

Leave a comment